Over the last couple days, I’ve had a chance to play around with some different cable routing ideas I have had for a while.

My brother-in-law surprised both his wife and I on Saturday by buying her a Surly LHT. We had a 42cm here that fit her well and we made some other changes to make it her own. She wasn’t a fan of the big arcs of housing sprouting from the bar-end shifters, so I took the opportunity to try out an idea I had. I routed the bar end shifter housing through the handlebar and exited up near the stem. I am sure this bar wouldn’t pass a rigorous stress-test in a lab, but her engineer husband and myself agreed that she would have a hard time stressing that bar enough to worry about. The end result was very agreeable.

 

The routing is not as obvious.

The routing is not as obvious.


Clean lines

Clean lines

Another routing project came by way of another LHT – this one in for a handlebar swap and checkup. He wanted to install a-bars on the bar-top and give the “second stem” idea a whirl. We placed a second stem under the stem holding the bars and put a nice straight bar in there to accommodate his computer, bike speakers, and a light. I didn’t like the way the front brake cable was routed around the stem into the hanger, so I drilled out a hole in the flat bar, tapped it to take a barrel adjuster, and made it serve as the cable hanger itself.

Accs Bar and Front Brake Cable Hanger

Accs Bar and Front Brake Cable Hanger


Finished Product

Finished Product

 

For more pictures, click here.

