I can say, without a doubt, that I have never been in a colder temp than today. It’s -23 here, with a windchill of -35.

Despite that fact, I think it will be a busy day. I may not see another human being in the shop, but my To Do list is actually pretty hefty. This post is at the top of the list.

We received our first shipment of Brooks Imperials earlier this week. One went with JT’s LHT to FL. They are impressive. I have been reading some ecstatic reviews. When I first saw that Brooks was going to release a saddle with a cutout, I was almost disappointed. The cutout seemed like a market trend – something Brooks tends to resist. The Imperials arrived with the new Brooks Bugle, a publication by Brooks promoting bike culture and new products. A considerable portion of the paper was dedicated to the new Imperials – explaining that the original Imperial saddles were designed in the 1890’s! The original patent is so complete as to include that the saddle “is a certain preventative to all perennial pressure.” Incredible. 10o years later, the rest of the industry finally caught up and released cutout saddles. I do love Brooks.

 

And, if I may brag, I think they like us, too. North Central Cyclery was featured as one of two U.S. dealers in the 2009 Dealers of Excellence brochure.

We have a sale coming up. The Top Secret 1-Day sale is an annual event. The only people that know about the sale and receive the special pricing are those on our mailing list. If you aren’t signed up the receive our monthly newsletter, The Velograph, sign up at the bottom of our main website. You will then receive our Top Secret Price Sheet a week before the event. Show up early if you want something on that sheet. Stay tuned.

Here is an awesome concept. Cheaper than painting bike lanes, that’s for sure:

In other news, a very tall and very talented cat is out of the the bag:

adventure-12408-001

This is the famous Ari Andonopolous, Mechanic and Instigator Extraordinaire. He has accepted a position at NCC and will start in February. Read all about it on his blog.

